Slow internet

Check out our product support threads to find answers to any questions you may have about your Sling Adapter, Tailgater or any other DISH product.

Re: Slow internet

Postby FirstShirt » Sat Jan 02, 2016 2:46 pm

braddavison22 wrote:Just had Dishnet installed a couple of days ago....pathetic!!!!!! They claim 5-15 MBpS, yet I am getting less than 1 MBpS download speed!!!! Funny thing is in the morning around 5am, the speed goes up to 7 MBpS, the evening drops back to less than 1. Totally unacceptable. Not worth the $89 I am being charged. If the tech does not fix this tomorrow, i am dropping this service and going with a Straight Talk hotspot device.


How did it work out for you? Inquiring minds want to know. . .
FirstShirt
FirstShirt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:15 pm

Re: Slow internet

Postby FirstShirt » Sat Jan 02, 2016 2:54 pm

Chadt4141 wrote:DishNet is HughesNet. You can view your usuage without getting online and using more data. I believe the address you want to type in is 192.168.100.1 for the modem.


Thanks. Crap, I don't even have enough bandwidth to load that 192.168.100.1 page. . . Figures.
FirstShirt
FirstShirt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:15 pm

Re: Slow internet

Postby Chadt4141 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 2:56 pm

It should not require any bandwidth. It is direct access to your modem, not the Internet. The one I gave you may be incorrect, there are a few options. 192.168.0.1, 192.168.1.1, 192.168.100.1 are all three commonly used for HughesNet and Excede.
I do not work for DISH, and all posts are made based on experience. EMPLOYEEs names only show in GREEN.
PM a mod for account specific answers.
Your friendly everyday guy, I AM CHAD!
Chadt4141
 
Posts: 7248
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Slow internet

Postby FirstShirt » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:02 pm

Chadt4141 wrote:It should not require any bandwidth. It is direct access to your modem, not the Internet. The one I gave you may be incorrect, there are a few options. 192.168.0.1, 192.168.1.1, 192.168.100.1 are all three commonly used for HughesNet and Excede.


I'll try the others. I presume I do not need an http:// prefix? I tried it both ways to no avail. {Never mind, it finally loaded}
FirstShirt
FirstShirt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:15 pm

Re: Slow internet

Postby FirstShirt » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:51 pm

FirstShirt wrote:
Chadt4141 wrote:It should not require any bandwidth. It is direct access to your modem, not the Internet. The one I gave you may be incorrect, there are a few options. 192.168.0.1, 192.168.1.1, 192.168.100.1 are all three commonly used for HughesNet and Excede.


I'll try the others. I presume I do not need an http:// prefix? I tried it both ways to no avail. {Never mind, it finally loaded}


Another question, friend. Does Dish have a time period where they allow you to use bandwidth without charging your account for it's useage? Like Hughes FAP Free time.
FirstShirt
FirstShirt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:15 pm

Re: Slow internet

Postby Chadt4141 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 4:57 pm

FirstShirt wrote:
FirstShirt wrote:
Chadt4141 wrote:It should not require any bandwidth. It is direct access to your modem, not the Internet. The one I gave you may be incorrect, there are a few options. 192.168.0.1, 192.168.1.1, 192.168.100.1 are all three commonly used for HughesNet and Excede.


I'll try the others. I presume I do not need an http:// prefix? I tried it both ways to no avail. {Never mind, it finally loaded}


Another question, friend. Does Dish have a time period where they allow you to use bandwidth without charging your account for it's useage? Like Hughes FAP Free time.

Yes and no. Your usuage is split between anytime and off peak hours. Let's say you have the 10 gb plan. You'll get 5 gb anytime and 5 off peak. The catch is because there is so little use in the off peak hours, a lot of areas are not really regulated. Basically it will say 5gb left and just never go down. Now in heavy night time use between 2 am and 8 am, it will be regulated.
I do not work for DISH, and all posts are made based on experience. EMPLOYEEs names only show in GREEN.
PM a mod for account specific answers.
Your friendly everyday guy, I AM CHAD!
Chadt4141
 
Posts: 7248
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Slow internet

Postby FirstShirt » Sat Jan 02, 2016 5:57 pm

Chadt4141 wrote:It should not require any bandwidth. ..

Yes and no. Your usuage is split between anytime and off peak hours. Let's say you have the 10 gb plan. You'll get 5 gb anytime and 5 off peak. The catch is because there is so little use in the off peak hours, a lot of areas are not really regulated. Basically it will say 5gb left and just never go down. Now in heavy night time use between 2 am and 8 am, it will be regulated.[/quote][/quote]
You're a wealth if information. Too bad Dish isn't. Yes, I have the 10GB plan.

My "HT1000 System Control Center" report says in another 13 days & some hours my Allowance Resets. Gee, I can't wait . . . Funny how fast technology advances in computer fields, yet bandwidth continues to evolve at a snail's pace.
FirstShirt
FirstShirt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:15 pm

Re: Slow internet

Postby Chadt4141 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:16 pm

FirstShirt wrote:
Chadt4141 wrote:It should not require any bandwidth. ..

Yes and no. Your usuage is split between anytime and off peak hours. Let's say you have the 10 gb plan. You'll get 5 gb anytime and 5 off peak. The catch is because there is so little use in the off peak hours, a lot of areas are not really regulated. Basically it will say 5gb left and just never go down. Now in heavy night time use between 2 am and 8 am, it will be regulated.
[/quote]
You're a wealth if information. Too bad Dish isn't. Yes, I have the 10GB plan.

My "HT1000 System Control Center" report says in another 13 days & some hours my Allowance Resets. Gee, I can't wait . . . Funny how fast technology advances in computer fields, yet bandwidth continues to evolve at a snail's pace.[/quote]
If it helps, a couple years ago I was a Dish Broadband supervisor, and that's where this knowledge comes from. The Internet is evolving as fast as it can with the government restrictions that are in place. Unfortunately the FCC has an extreme limit on available bandwidth, which is where the fair access policy comes from.
I do not work for DISH, and all posts are made based on experience. EMPLOYEEs names only show in GREEN.
PM a mod for account specific answers.
Your friendly everyday guy, I AM CHAD!
Chadt4141
 
Posts: 7248
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Slow internet

Postby Fumino » Tue Mar 15, 2016 2:13 am

The requested URL was rejected. Please consult with your administrator.

Funny how if I say anything about slo-w speeds it gets blocked with that message.

Anyways, here's my reply with how this company completely screwed over my elderly mother.

http://pastebin.com/nx0nyXw4

See you in court.
Fumino
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:27 am

Re: Slow internet

Postby peggyrh » Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:35 am

That's because this forum does not deal with internet issues, only tv.
Peggyrh
H3/J2
peggyrh
 
Posts: 3061
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:30 am

PreviousNext

Return to DISH Product Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest